Lakeland News Posting

Lakeland honor society recognized at regional ceremony

Posted: April 8, 2021

Lakeland’s Alpha Psi Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) was recently recognized with multiple awards at the PTK Ohio Regional Awards ceremony on March 27.

The awards banquet was virtually attended by advisers Dr. Andrea Musial, professor James Dailey and Dr. Matthew Hiner; chapter president Josie Vano; vice presidents Elizabeth Brassell, Janice Robinson and Kristel Champa; and several chapter members and alumni.

"The advisers are very proud of our chapter officers this year. While rewarding, these projects are also challenging, particularly during a pandemic. We are also very pleased to see so many scholarship winners coming from Lakeland," said Hiner.

The chapter received a Five Star Chapter Award for the 10th year in a row and the 14th time in the last 15 years. Along with the Five Star recognition, Alpha Psi Rho won the REACH Chapter Award for the first time in its history. In addition, the chapter won Outstanding Honors in Action Project as well as the Outstanding Honors in Action Theme Award, and was named second runner up Outstanding Regional Chapter out of 42 chapters across Ohio and northern West Virginia.

The chapter also won numerous individual awards, including:

  • Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award (Josie Vano, Elizabeth Brassell, Janice Robinson, Kristel Champa, Bradley Gartner and Flor Lujan)
  • Alumni Award of Appreciation (Greg Nicholson)
  • Outstanding Regional Member (Maggie Barkoot)
  • Cindy Carbone Continued Excellence in Advising Award (Dr. Matthew Hiner)
  • Charlie Gallucci Advising Award (Dr. Andrea Musial).

In addition to chapter and individual awards, Janice Robinson won the John C. Kesler Scholarship, funded by former Ohio Region Coordinator and Lakeland faculty member Dr. John Kesler.

At the event, the All-Ohio Academic Team scholarship winners were also announced. Chapter officer Josie Vano earned a second-team All-Ohio Scholarship. Bradley Gartner and Meghan Laylin both earned third-team All-Ohio Scholarships.

By: Jessica Novak

Media Contact:
Kerry Jonke