Lakeland News Posting

Celebrating the many exciting forms of the written word at the Lakeland Literary Festival

Posted: November 26, 2018

Students and members of the community are invited to attend the Lakeland Literary Festival, being held Friday, Nov. 30, 2018, starting at 8:30 a.m. in Lakeland’s HIVE, H-Building and the Dr. Wayne L. Rodehorst Performing Arts Center in the D-Building on the main campus at 7700 Clocktower Drive, Kirtland, Ohio.

The daylong festival will highlight the many modes of creative expression offered through literature. It will include a keynote speaker and a number of workshop sessions provided by noted authors for the study of non-fiction, fiction, publishing, poetry, playwriting and translation. The event culminates with the award ceremony for the winners of the 31th Annual Poetry Competition. The event is free, but registration is required. Those interested can register at

About the keynote speaker

Lake County native Dave Lucas, author of “Weather” (VQR/Georgia, 2011) will be the keynote speaker this year. Lucas was the recipient of the 2012 Ohioana Book Award in Poetry and was appointed the second Poet Laureate of the State of Ohio.

Workshop hosts

Many accomplished writers will teach the workshops. Those attending areSybil Baker, Sara Dobie Bauer, Dan Bourne, Abigail Cloud, Deborah Fleming, David Giffels, Mitchell James, A. Rafael Johnson, Paula Lambert, Dave Lucas, Hugh Martin, Michael Oatman, Caryl Pagel, Hilary Plum, Juan Armando Rojas Joo, Andrew Sullivan, Frank Tascone, and Sony Ton-Aime.

Poetry competition

As part of the festival, the college will award monetary prizes to the winners of the 31st Annual Poetry Competition. Contest winners are chosen from three categories: high school students, Lakeland students, and the public. The judge this year is Mary Quade, associate professor of English at Hiram College and recipient of an Oregon Literary Fellowship and three Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Awards.

For more information, contact Associate Professor James DeMonte at or call 440.525.7458 or Professor Tobin F. Terry at

By: Jeri Pilarczyk

Media Contact:
Kerry Jonke