Lakeland News Posting

Scott Barlow selected as the OCCAC 2018 Athletic Director of the Year

Posted: June 21, 2018 | Updated: July 24, 2018

Lakeland Athletics Director Scott Barlow

Lakeland Athletics Director Scott Barlow has been voted as the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) Athletic Director of the Year for the 2017-18 academic season. The award is voted on by his athletic director peers across the conference. This is Barlow's third time earning the prestigious honor (2002, 2005, 2018).

In addition to leading the Lakeland Athletics Department for the last 18 years, Barlow has also served as the OCCAC commissioner since 2002. He has guided the OCCAC growth and stabilization over the last few years. Barlow's drive for consistent and constant improvement expands beyond Ohio. He is also an active member of the National Junior College Athletic Association board of directors and the Region XII women's division director.

"Over the past 18 years, Scott has been committed to combining athletic achievements and student success to Lakeland," said Lakeland President Dr. Morris Beverage Jr. "We are honored and privileged to have a member of our team with such high integrity and insight."

Barlow was also instrumental in hosting the district baseball tournament at the Sports Force Parks in Sandusky.

During the 2017-18 school year, Lakeland had 43 student athletes named Academic All-OCCAC for the fall 2017 and spring 2018 semester for earning a grade-point average above 3.3.

Twelve Lakers earned All-OCCAC accolades during the 2017-18 season, highlighted by Armani Jackson's Women's Basketball Player of the Year runner-up performance and softball's Kallista Hribar being named an All-American.

"Although I am honored to receive this award, it is a result of help and support along the way from fellow OCCAC athletic directors, Lakeland's administration, faculty and staff," said Barlow. "Lakeland's athletic staff – specifically, Jake Gordon and Jeanné Sudyk – have provided tremendous support. This is a collective award and so, thank you to all of those who played a role in this."

Related Links:

  • Lakeland Athletics
  • By: Jessica Novak

    Media Contact:
    Kerry Jonke